Radio interference - Page 3 - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
General RC Aircraft Discussion Discuss anything RC related
Sponsored by: Shami Hobbies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2016, 09:51 AM   #21
Cougar429
Level 3 Supporter
★ Site Supporter ★
 
Cougar429's Avatar
 
I am: Gary L
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tecumseh, Ontario

Feedback: 75 / 100%
Posts: 5,537
Total Props: 35
Re: Radio interference


       Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Since it has shown this with multiple receivers definitely sounds like you have a problem with equipment external to that part of the system.

May even be a combination, but in the end I suspect you will find one of the sources we suggested.

I'm really interested to hear what you come up with.
__________________
I know there's money in aviation........I put it there!
Cougar429 is online now   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 09-05-2016, 12:57 PM   #22
Crash alot
Damm crazy about RC
★ Site Supporter ★
 
Crash alot's Avatar
 
I am: James S
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Waskada Manitoba
Radio of choice:
Futaba Super 7/ 9 CAPs/FrSky X9E
# of RCs: 8

Feedback: 19 / 100%
Posts: 124
Total Props: 1
Re: Radio interference

I sure hope so. I have built more than 30 planes (not much for some) in the past 25 years and I have never had any issues like this. But this was an ARF and I only assembled it (disclaimer) Lol...
Crash alot is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 09-05-2016, 01:05 PM   #23
4*60
RCC Pro Contributor
 
4*60's Avatar
 
I am: Dennis M
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: 50 52 38 -119 22 14
Radio of choice:
Taranis
# of RCs: 14

Feedback: 7 / 100%
Posts: 1,939
Total Props: 10
Re: Radio interference

quote:Even if I unplug both the flap and aileron at the fuse the right wing is still very sensitive. Antenna in. If I pull the antenna out it reacts differently.

With stuff unplugged it is moving????

Withantenna out what is different? Obviously the signal from TX is weaker so does it act up moreso?

I would try a LIFE pack. You may may be suffering from your pack not able to provide the voltage/current.
NIMH pack???
4*60 is offline   Quick reply to this message.
 
Old 09-05-2016, 02:02 PM   #24
Crash alot
Damm crazy about RC
★ Site Supporter ★
 
Crash alot's Avatar
 
I am: James S
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Waskada Manitoba
Radio of choice:
Futaba Super 7/ 9 CAPs/FrSky X9E
# of RCs: 8

Feedback: 19 / 100%
Posts: 124
Total Props: 1
Re: Radio interference

The aileron and flap dont move on the unplugged wing but it still affects the rest of the system when I move the tx over the unplugged wing.
And standing over the model the problem is more severe with the antenna out.
Yes a 2300 NIMH AA 6v 5 cell.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4*60 View Post
quote:Even if I unplug both the flap and aileron at the fuse the right wing is still very sensitive. Antenna in. If I pull the antenna out it reacts differently.

With stuff unplugged it is moving????

Withantenna out what is different? Obviously the signal from TX is weaker so does it act up moreso?

I would try a LIFE pack. You may may be suffering from your pack not able to provide the voltage/current.
NIMH pack???
Crash alot is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 09-05-2016, 03:55 PM   #25
stegl
RCC Supreme Contributor
 
I am: Len S
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kelowna
Radio of choice:
Jeti DS16 just need one radio as it does it all but still use my Airtronics SD10.
# of RCs: 10

Feedback: 28 / 100%
Posts: 3,101
Total Props: 20
Re: Radio interference

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crash alot View Post
I am using new 5 cell 2300 ma AA pack. Will that be too small for this? I have 4 digital servo's in the wings (3151) and 1 on the elevator (9451). Analogue on the rudder and throttle (both 3004). (all Futaba)
Not so sure I would use AA nimh cells for 5 digital plus 2 analogue servos
especially if they are of the cheaper brands, even the best : Eneloop but would suggest Life as others have suggested.
stegl is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 09-05-2016, 05:44 PM   #26
Trumpet
RCC Contributor
 
I am: Mark Betuzzi
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kamloops BC

Feedback: 5 / 100%
Posts: 317
Total Props: 8
Re: Radio interference

Hello:
I am wondering how old your 72 MHZ Futaba radio transmitter and receiver are with the Carbon Z you are having troubles with? As components inside your transmitter and receiver age, your transmitter can drift off frequency and your receiver becomes less able to filter out and reject interference.

Digital servos are electronically noisy and can send the noise back down the battery supply and can cause glitching issues.

You would see the benefits of switching your plane over to a good 2.4 GHZ system.
Good luck.
Mark
Trumpet is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 09-05-2016, 05:47 PM   #27
kip51035
RCC Supreme Contributor
 
kip51035's Avatar
 
I am: Cliff S
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Belleville Ont.
Radio of choice:
Hitec, Futaba - FM
# of RCs: 10

Feedback: 25 / 96%
Posts: 2,839
Total Props: 13
Re: Radio interference

On my pattern ship I had a 1600 6V NMHI pack. Although it has plenty of capacity I found that when I operated everything at once there was a significant voltage drop, It could not produce the amperage. I switched to a 1200 ma NiCAD pack which could produce lots of amperage. A LIPO pack with a voltage regulator would also do. Note when you put a diode in series with the a LIPO pack it drops the voltage .7V, cheap regulator. I used a 5 amp diode.
__________________
Kip

"If my being here has made your day a little more pleasant then I have done my job" Red Skelton 1913 - 1997 (famous Comedian)
kip51035 is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 09-05-2016, 07:10 PM   #28
Crash alot
Damm crazy about RC
★ Site Supporter ★
 
Crash alot's Avatar
 
I am: James S
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Waskada Manitoba
Radio of choice:
Futaba Super 7/ 9 CAPs/FrSky X9E
# of RCs: 8

Feedback: 19 / 100%
Posts: 124
Total Props: 1
Re: Radio interference

I am going out to the shop and I am going to try one thing at a time and leave the changes...
1-re-route my antenna again and replace y cable for ailerons in wing (because I haven't yet).
2-install voltmeter and 5000 Mah Dynamite (7.2v converted to 6.0v) battery from my bi-plane.
3-replace receiver with 5 channel PCM
4-replace prop and spinner.
5-have a smoke, 2 pops and bang my head more!
6-remove the struts and landing gear.
7-remove all push rods and metal parts.
7-remove and replace motor with another 4 stroke (FA-65)
8-put plane back in box (as it is mostly dissembled at this point anyway)
Or.
9-get a module and receiver for 2.4ghz....
Cliff I like the sound of the regulator I have been looking for something like that. Can the diode support constant voltage draw without heat problems?
Crash alot is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 09-05-2016, 08:04 PM   #29
RAMJET
RCC Pro Contributor
 
RAMJET's Avatar
 
I am: ....Roger ..........
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: ........Parry Sound Ont.................
Radio of choice:
JR 12x
# of RCs: 100

Feedback: 11 / 100%
Posts: 1,873
Total Props: 22
Re: Radio interference

Are the extensions twisted or straight , if they are straight I would try twisting them to reduce induced voltage. . AA NiMh would be marginal at best for that setup . 2.4 would fix the problem .
__________________
..........................
RAMJET is online now   Quick reply to this message.
Old 09-05-2016, 08:43 PM   #30
Crash alot
Damm crazy about RC
★ Site Supporter ★
 
Crash alot's Avatar
 
I am: James S
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Waskada Manitoba
Radio of choice:
Futaba Super 7/ 9 CAPs/FrSky X9E
# of RCs: 8

Feedback: 19 / 100%
Posts: 124
Total Props: 1
Re: Radio interference

They are all straight. I think I have enough cable at the receiver to give them a few.
I didn't get past # 1 on my list yet. If I route the antenna up through the receiver compartment and out the door, then up to the tail it seems to eliminate all the glitching (so far). I can wave the antenna (up or down) around the wing and fuse and I dont get any control loss or involuntary control surface movement. This is an impractical location to run the antenna so I am going to have to play a bit more to find something that works. Then I think I will change the battery anyway as the consensus seems to be I dont have enough..

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAMJET View Post
Are the extensions twisted or straight , if they are straight I would try twisting them to reduce induced voltage. . AA NiMh would be marginal at best for that setup . 2.4 would fix the problem .
Crash alot is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionally, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Your Name
Your first name and last initial is required if you plan on using the forum.
Location
Which city & province you live in. This is mandatory for classified listings.
Radio of choice?
Which radio is your current favorite to use?
Number of RC Vehicles?
How many boats, cars, planes do you own?

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
vBulletin Message

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.