Kingtech k100g (280min) starting problems - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Jet Aircraft Discuss Jets in Canada

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2016, 01:02 PM   #1
Funfly
RCC Contributor
 
I am: Dennis H
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Barrie, ONT
Radio of choice:
JR9303 2.4
# of RCs: 6

Feedback: 6 / 100%
Posts: 449
Total Props: 1
Kingtech k100g (280min) starting problems


       Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Tried to start the turbine today and twice I got the msg start bad (rpm got to 2700). Was about to packup and tried it one more time and it started, am I right in thinking that my starter maybe on its way out. I run a a123 9.9v pack.and have to run the starter to drop it down trim down stick up for 3 sec, I do this 2 or 3 times only on the first run of the day as its fresh of a charge.
Help info please
Dennis
Funfly is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 09-16-2016, 04:25 PM   #2
Canadian Man
RCC Junior Contributor
 
Canadian Man's Avatar
 
I am: Jonathan
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Radio of choice:
Dx18QQ
# of RCs: 8

Feedback: 1 / 100%
Posts: 184
Total Props: 0
Re: Kingtech k100g (280min) starting problems

Hello Dennis.

I would post this question on the R C Universe board in kingtech section and you will probably get a quicker response.

Never got this message from any of my kingtechs in the past so it's new to me.
Canadian Man is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 09-16-2016, 07:27 PM   #3
Funfly
RCC Contributor
 
I am: Dennis H
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Barrie, ONT
Radio of choice:
JR9303 2.4
# of RCs: 6

Feedback: 6 / 100%
Posts: 449
Total Props: 1
Re: Kingtech k100g (280min) starting problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Canadian Man View Post
Hello Dennis.

I would post this question on the R C Universe board in kingtech section and you will probably get a quicker response.

Never got this message from any of my kingtechs in the past so it's new to me.
Ok Thanks ill do that.
Funfly is offline   Quick reply to this message.
 
Old 09-16-2016, 07:37 PM   #4
stegl
RCC Supreme Contributor
 
I am: Len S
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kelowna
Radio of choice:
Jeti DS16 just need one radio as it does it all but still use my Airtronics SD10.
# of RCs: 10

Feedback: 36 / 100%
Posts: 3,255
Total Props: 20
Re: Kingtech k100g (280min) starting problems

The usual steps when the ECU is matched to the transmitter, is for a start , trim up , throttle up for say 3 or 4 seconds and then throttle back to idle. And for shutdown ... Throttle down to idle and then trim down......I have mine on a switch which controls idle up and down. Had the switch reversed somehow last weekend on my Wren 44 TP , got a start ok but the ECU was all confused as to shutdown as I had the switch reversed. Was ok after I did an electronic switch reverse and a relearn. Have it this way on my Jets Munt and works fine. Same as throttle cut on glow or ignition.

Maybe try a relearn between the transmitter and your KingTech ECU ?
stegl is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 09-17-2016, 03:01 PM   #5
TAK 3D
RCC Noob
 
I am: Tim K
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Niagara Falls,Ont.

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 10
Total Props: 0
Re: Kingtech k100g (280min) starting problems

I had this problem with a JM 100 this spring.Thought I was going to have to send it in. Turned out to be sticky residue on the bearings(despite using recommended oils). Found it by trying to spin the turbine with my finger. I primed the engine to slightly flood the bearing galleries, then blew out the excess fuel, waited a while and started the engine with a leaf blower handy. It started right away with very little flame.
TAK 3D is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 09-18-2016, 12:23 PM   #6
Funfly
RCC Contributor
 
I am: Dennis H
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Barrie, ONT
Radio of choice:
JR9303 2.4
# of RCs: 6

Feedback: 6 / 100%
Posts: 449
Total Props: 1
Re: Kingtech k100g (280min) starting problems

I took mine out of the plane and looked it over all seamed to be fine, reinstalled and tried to restart it again and it started with no problems did this a 3-4 time and all seams to be good..
Funfly is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 09-18-2016, 05:48 PM   #7
stegl
RCC Supreme Contributor
 
I am: Len S
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kelowna
Radio of choice:
Jeti DS16 just need one radio as it does it all but still use my Airtronics SD10.
# of RCs: 10

Feedback: 36 / 100%
Posts: 3,255
Total Props: 20
Re: Kingtech k100g (280min) starting problems

Wonder if it was air bubbles in the system ?
stegl is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionally, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Your Name
Your first name and last initial is required if you plan on using the forum.
Location
Which city & province you live in. This is mandatory for classified listings.
Radio of choice?
Which radio is your current favorite to use?
Number of RC Vehicles?
How many boats, cars, planes do you own?

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
vBulletin Message

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 PM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.