Taranis Plus - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Electronics Discuss radios, chargers, etc...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2016, 05:25 PM   #1
EricD
Level 3 Supporter
★ Site Supporter ★
 
I am: Eric Dizenbach
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oshawa Ont.
Radio of choice:
JR 12X
# of RCs: 20

Feedback: 13 / 88%
Posts: 388
Total Props: 0
Taranis Plus


       Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
I cannot seem to be able to "discover new sensors" as per videos etc. The radio Ver. 2.1.6. Any tricks I am missing? I am trying to use a vario and GPS. Thanks Eric
__________________
MAAC 6859 LSF 462
EricD is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 09-22-2016, 05:49 PM   #2
JoeT
RCC Expert Contributor
 
JoeT's Avatar
 
I am: JoeT
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Maple, Ontario, Canada
Radio of choice:
Was a Futaba, Now a Tyrant with Taranis.
# of RCs: 5

Feedback: 11 / 100%
Posts: 846
Total Props: 9
Re: Taranis Plus

Make sure that you have your Receiver turned on.

When it's on and bound to your TX

Go to page 13, Telemetry and click on discover sensors. Both the receiver and all sensors must be plugged in and powered on.

Can you give us some information of your config?
What sensors are you using, are they Sport (Smart Port Sensors)
What Receiver are you using? D Series or X Series?
__________________
Not just any old Joe.. LOL
Almost ancient MAAC Number 28296
R/C 400 Club, Toronto RCFC
JoeT is online now   Quick reply to this message.
Old 09-22-2016, 06:14 PM   #3
EricD
Level 3 Supporter
★ Site Supporter ★
 
I am: Eric Dizenbach
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oshawa Ont.
Radio of choice:
JR 12X
# of RCs: 20

Feedback: 13 / 88%
Posts: 388
Total Props: 0
Re: Taranis Plus

Yes I have done all that many times. X8R Rx. Smart port sensors. I do not have a page thirteen. Telemetry is on page 12. I have 2 Tx. and have the same problem. It is like the Tx needs a re-boot. My first Tx I had the vario working until I updated to ver 2,1.8. Eric
__________________
MAAC 6859 LSF 462
EricD is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 09-22-2016, 06:28 PM   #4
JoeT
RCC Expert Contributor
 
JoeT's Avatar
 
I am: JoeT
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Maple, Ontario, Canada
Radio of choice:
Was a Futaba, Now a Tyrant with Taranis.
# of RCs: 5

Feedback: 11 / 100%
Posts: 846
Total Props: 9
Re: Taranis Plus

Can you post a picture of your setup and the sensors please?

Thanks
__________________
Not just any old Joe.. LOL
Almost ancient MAAC Number 28296
R/C 400 Club, Toronto RCFC
JoeT is online now   Quick reply to this message.
Old 09-22-2016, 09:24 PM   #5
kcaldwel
RCC Contributor
 
I am: Kevin C.
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Courtenay,BC

Feedback: 2 / 100%
Posts: 276
Total Props: 6
Re: Taranis Plus

No sensors are showing on the telemetry page (Pg. 12 or 13, depending what options you have loaded) after you do "Discover sensors"?

Kevin

Last edited by kcaldwel; 09-22-2016 at 09:53 PM.
kcaldwel is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 09-22-2016, 10:14 PM   #6
deaconFlyer
RCC Junior Contributor
 
deaconFlyer's Avatar
 
I am: B. McLaren
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ontario
Radio of choice:
Taranis & 9XR
# of RCs: 12+

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 133
Total Props: 0
Re: Taranis Plus

The changelog for 2.1.9 lists numerous sensor fixes. Worth trying.

https://github.com/opentx/opentx/releases/tag/2.1.9
__________________
... Luke 6:38
deaconFlyer is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 09-23-2016, 12:00 AM   #7
EricD
Level 3 Supporter
★ Site Supporter ★
 
I am: Eric Dizenbach
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oshawa Ont.
Radio of choice:
JR 12X
# of RCs: 20

Feedback: 13 / 88%
Posts: 388
Total Props: 0
Re: Taranis Plus

Hi Kevin Pushing "discover sensors" Only puts that line to stop discovery. I do not get the sensor list like I had at first. Thanks Eric
__________________
MAAC 6859 LSF 462

Last edited by EricD; 09-23-2016 at 12:07 AM.
EricD is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 09-23-2016, 01:24 AM   #8
kcaldwel
RCC Contributor
 
I am: Kevin C.
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Courtenay,BC

Feedback: 2 / 100%
Posts: 276
Total Props: 6
Re: Taranis Plus

You aren't even seeing the voltage and RSSI from the Rx without any external sensors?

How did you bind the Rx to the Tx? It is possible to turn off the telemetry during binding on the X8R if you use a jumper on pins 1 to 2 or 3 to 4. Maybe try re-binding just using the button on the Rx? The Tx has to be in D8 or D16 mode for the model selected - D16 I believe if you don't use any jumpers on the Rx.

The lights are on at the sensors showing they are active? Have you tried another Rx?

The Tx is at least a meter away from the Rx?

I've never had any issues on any of the 2.1 versions, so I don't think it is a Tx firmware version issue.

Kevin
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	X8R binding.png
Views:	15
Size:	26.5 KB
ID:	1059218  
kcaldwel is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 09-23-2016, 03:20 PM   #9
EricD
Level 3 Supporter
★ Site Supporter ★
 
I am: Eric Dizenbach
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oshawa Ont.
Radio of choice:
JR 12X
# of RCs: 20

Feedback: 13 / 88%
Posts: 388
Total Props: 0
Re: Taranis Plus

THANK YOU ! Kevin I was binding with the pin jumper. I now am getting sensors on the screen. Thanks again Eric
__________________
MAAC 6859 LSF 462
EricD is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionally, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Your Name
Your first name and last initial is required if you plan on using the forum.
Location
Which city & province you live in. This is mandatory for classified listings.
Radio of choice?
Which radio is your current favorite to use?
Number of RC Vehicles?
How many boats, cars, planes do you own?

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
vBulletin Message

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 PM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.