Just getting started - what airplane - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
General RC Aircraft Discussion Discuss anything RC related

Closed Thread
Old 03-19-2005, 08:54 PM   #1
RCC Apprentice

Total Props: 0
Just getting started - what airplane

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Quick question for everyone - I'm just getting started. What airplane should I start with? (Doesn't matter if it's a kit or an arf)
Poelzer is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 03-19-2005, 09:14 PM   #2
Chris Cann
RCC Supreme Contributor

IMHO Hobbico Nexstar is the best trainer on the market.
Chris Cann is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 03-19-2005, 09:21 PM   #3
RCC Contributor

Hi Poelzer,

INMO...I think the old Kadet LT40 is still an awesome bang for your buck. It is big, stable and cost effective. It is also very robust and can take some thumping around. I learned on one last year...got my wings in about 4 weekends and progressed on to a Florio and a Super Chipmunk in the same year. It taught me well. I would contribute my modest success to the confidence that the LT40 gave me. I am sure that the Nexstar is a great plane, but I KNOW first hand how well the Kadet worked for me.

Joe Di Profio Jr

MAAC 70927

"Am I Inverted.....Oh Crap!!"
jdiprofio is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 03-19-2005, 10:26 PM   #4
Flyin High
RCC Senior Contributor
I am: Bob S

Personally if I had to do it all over again, I would pick Chris's selection...The Nexstar. It's like a few hundred dollars... but you get absolutly everything! Plus the 1 crash guarentee
Flyin High is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 03-19-2005, 10:31 PM   #5
Chris Cann
RCC Supreme Contributor