can any one help me - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Nitro RC Car and Truck Discussion Discuss nitro RC vehicles

Closed Thread
Old 03-25-2005, 04:47 PM   #1
RCC Noob

Total Props: 0
can any one help me

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
hi i am new to the whole nitro rc thing and i just bought my self a used nitro car and it runs and every thing buy i think its idleing to high and i looked on the hpi site to figure how to turn down the idle but the wheels keep spinning and the only way it will stop is if i hold the brake and then it still idles high so i was just wondering if any one could help me out a bit thx
***mike*** is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 03-25-2005, 08:27 PM   #2
RCC Expert Contributor

carb settings...

Hello Mike. Welcome to the rc hobby!

Well i myself have a nitro buggy with a Fantom FR.15 engine. I'm not sure what engine you have but i think on all buggy engines, there is a screw on the carburetor that will determine how far the carburetor barrel will slide/rotate (depending on if it's a slide carburetor or a rotating carburetor) towards the off position. What you need to do is find where this screw is (the manual to your engine should say this or if you don't have the manual, go to the manufacturer's website and download a manual) and turn it a few turns with the engine running. You will either hear the engine speed up or slow down. If it speeds up, turn it in the opposite direction until it will idle reliably without trying to spin the wheels.
MAAC #50437
Ramz-to-tha-Z is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 04-06-2005, 11:15 AM   #3
RCC Apprentice

Without knowing the engine type or car model, we'll assume you have a nitro star .15, so the first place to look might be here: