glitch problem-something extra with 46ax - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Fixed Wing Discuss fixed wing aircraft.

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2005, 08:04 AM   #1
RCC Junior Contributor
I am: Peter H
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Whitby, Ontario (next to Toronto)

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 100
Total Props: 0
glitch problem-something extra with 46ax

       Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
I am having a problem with my plane and was hoping someone can help.
I fly it around in circuits and at least once each circuit (not always at the same spot) all servos will glitch for a split second.
I have checked that there is no metal on metal contact, and have wiggled the crystal and lightly tapped the reciever and each servo while it is running, but that does not seem to effect it.

Any ideas ?

hancop is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 08-25-2005, 08:26 AM   #2
RCC Supreme Contributor
★ Site Supporter ★
★ Site Supporter ★
★ Site Supporter ★
I am: Robert
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Radio of choice:
# of RCs: 2

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 3,073
Total Props: 0

If it happens in just one perticular spot where you fly through then there could be some problem with land elevation and might be getting up draft or low draft, it also could be that you might be having range problems that far out or may be getting hit with interfarence of some kind... Check if there is someone else on your channel and if he might be turning his TX on for second that also could cause you glitch problems...

Do sign the petiton. We could Save our Connie CF-TGE, We still have chance, Once gone we will lose our History and Heritage forever....
Concordefan is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-25-2005, 08:35 AM   #3
RCC Supreme Contributor
I am: Dave
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: P.River,Alberta
Radio of choice:
Airtronics SD-6G
# of RCs: 3

Feedback: 116 / 97%
Posts: 6,088
Total Props: 6

If it doesn't do it on the ground, then I agree with a range problem or
tuning problem. I would try easier things first. Change switch harness.
Then try it again. Then swap servos around. Could be a smal break in antennae wire also.
cassat is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-25-2005, 10:03 AM   #4
RCC Supreme Contributor
I am: eric q
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Crawford Lake, Ontario
Radio of choice:
# of RCs: too

Feedback: 9 / 100%
Posts: 7,159
Total Props: 26
Try a different set of crystals.
moo is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-25-2005, 11:29 AM   #5
RCC Junior Contributor
NorthernBoy's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nellie Lake (Ontario)

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 180
Total Props: 0
Is your antenna running inside the fuse? With my SE I had poor range with the antenna inside the fuse, moved it outside and problem solved.

If you're not in the trees you're not trying hard enough.

Wild Hare Edge540T/3MM-53
Mojo 65/Saito 150
Mojo 40/Saito 82 on Floats
Super Zoom 4D
NorthernBoy is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-25-2005, 01:00 PM   #6
Dave Holmes
RCC Supreme Contributor
Dave Holmes's Avatar
I am: Dave Holmes
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prince Edward County, Ontario (no longer Brampton!)
Radio of choice:
Futaba 72 Mhz
# of RCs: 30+

Feedback: 4 / 100%
Posts: 4,209
Total Props: 10
The last "glitch" problem I had was a loose battery connector. Engine vibration at certain rpm's caused it to momentarily lose contact and the Rx would of course lose power momentarily.

Was exactly long enough to put my plane into a tree....
right above a bank full watercourse...
Dave Holmes

The older I get, the better I used to be!
Dave Holmes is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-25-2005, 03:26 PM   #7
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Georgetown Ont

Feedback: 1 / 100%
Posts: 4,445
Total Props: 1
so many possibilities. maybe a microwave tower in the vicinity? ground abnormality? what do other fliers say about their planes?
voyager_663rd is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-25-2005, 07:53 PM   #8
Ken Currell
I am: Ken Currell
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Whitby, Ontario
Radio of choice:
Multiplex Royal Evo
# of RCs: 30+

Feedback: 3 / 100%
Posts: 3,688
Total Props: 0

There have certainly been some unexplained crashes at the field. There was some talk last year about problems on a certain channel but I don't know that it was proven to be the problem or not.

Are you using good quality servos?

One of the guys had problems with cheap servos. Fortunately it happened on the ground and once he replaced the servos the problem went away.

What type of receiver do you have?

What channel are you using?

Ken Currell is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-25-2005, 08:24 PM   #9
RCC Expert Contributor
Ramz-to-tha-Z's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Petitcodiac, New Brunswick

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 751
Total Props: 0

if i were you, i'd send the gear away and get it checked out. Intermittent problems are ususally very tricky to find. If i were you, i wouldn't fly it until my gear got a clean bill of health. It could be a crappy trace or connection inside your rx...
MAAC #50437
Ramz-to-tha-Z is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-26-2005, 08:01 AM   #10
RCC Junior Contributor
I am: Peter H
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Whitby, Ontario (next to Toronto)

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 100
Total Props: 0
Thanks to everyone for your help. I hope I have found what the problem is. Someone suggested the battery, on rcuniverse, so last night I removed the battery to replace it with a new one and discovered that it was completely soaked in fuel !!!. I have 60 flights on this new plane and what i discovered was that when I fill the fuel tank up to the top and it starts to come out the vent line, it is also leaking out the cap of the fuel tank. Therefore for 60 fuelings, I have been leaking fuel all over the battery. I have thrown out the battery, tightened the fuel tank, and tested to make sure it does not leak. I am going to put it all back together tonight and hopefully this will fix my problem.

hancop is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Closed Thread

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionally, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Your Name
Your first name and last initial is required if you plan on using the forum.
Which city & province you live in. This is mandatory for classified listings.
Radio of choice?
Which radio is your current favorite to use?
Number of RC Vehicles?
How many boats, cars, planes do you own?


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
vBulletin Message

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.