getting rx antenna's through tubes - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Construction Ideas, Hints and Tips For all the builders out there. Ask questions, make suggestions, trade tips.

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2006, 12:39 AM   #1
RCC Supreme Contributor
hillmanr2's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kelowna, B.C.

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 2,435
Total Props: 0
getting rx antenna's through tubes

       Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
I was doing my usaul routine with getting the antenna down the tube. Push a thin piece of piano wire down the tube, Glue a tiny bit (3mm) of the antenna with ca to the wire and pull. While this is easy I started to wonder how you guys do it?
Imac # 4751
Speedway and Hobby
PTA Hobbies
hillmanr2 is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 01-22-2006, 08:15 AM   #2
RCC Master Contributor
skypupnut's Avatar
I am: jean c blouin
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sherbrooke P. Quebec
Radio of choice:
hitec polk spektrum
# of RCs: 30+

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 1,027
Total Props: 2
fire up your air compressor and feed in the antenna as far as it will go then blow air into the tube and pust rest of antenna wire in easy as keck
it some times pulls itself in
MAAC 5057 L
Jean. C. Blouin
CFI Club Aeromodeliste de l`Estrie
Skype jean.blouin
skypupnut is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 01-22-2006, 08:17 AM   #3
Ed Smith

Feedback: / %
Posts: n/a
Total Props: 0
Why Put in in a tube?

Ed S
  Quick reply to this message.
Old 01-22-2006, 08:25 AM   #4
RCC Supreme Contributor
I am: Bob D.
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Whitby, Ontario
Radio of choice:
Futaba 12FG
# of RCs: 1+

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 3,311
Total Props: 0
put some baby powder in the tube. It slide through easier.

Ed, it let's us put the antenae straight through the inside of the fuse easier.

Bob D.
Ajax RC Club
Indoor Aero-Choppers
Member of MAAC since I joined

Lighten Up, Life is waaaaaayyyy too short
Nuker is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 01-22-2006, 08:44 AM   #5
RCC Supreme Contributor
I am: eric q
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Crawford Lake, Ontario
Radio of choice:
# of RCs: too

Feedback: 9 / 100%
Posts: 7,159
Total Props: 26
I like WD40 as a tube lube, just straighten the antenna wire first.
desiderantes meliorem patriam
To err is human, to moo is bovine
moo is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 01-22-2006, 08:48 AM   #6
scaleguy's Avatar
I am: JimmyD
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mississauga On, SE Zone
Radio of choice:
JETI Duplex DS-16
# of RCs: 6

Feedback: 30 / 100%
Posts: 13,957
Total Props: 16
Originally Posted by Ed Smith
Why Put in in a tube?

Ed S

To keep the antenna inside the fuse... ussually used on larger 25% and up aircraft... so you don't have the antenna wire outised the fuse or as little as possible.
Jim Daly
IMAC Sequence Committee Member
Your Friendly Neighborhood SouthEast Zone Director
MAAC #14323L IMAC #3678
scaleguy is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 01-22-2006, 09:40 AM   #7
RCC Supreme Contributor
I am: John Davidson
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vulcan,Alberta
Radio of choice:
EVO(12), Futaba
# of RCs: ?

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 2,927
Total Props: 0
I have never used a tube either. What I do is use a piece of piano wire with a small hook on the end that is closed so it won't catch on anything. Go through one of the holes at the tail up to the receiver and loop through about 4" and pull it back. If the fuse is longer then it will be strung out completly inside or just a bit outside.
Never did like adding weight especially in the tail.
John Davidson
Keep the shiny side up and the wheels down
Vulcan1 is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 01-22-2006, 12:22 PM   #8
Ed Smith

Feedback: / %
Posts: n/a
Total Props: 0
I realise the antenna is to be kept inside the fuselage but why in a tube? All of my antenna are inside the fuselage. I do the same as John describes in his post. If the antenna is a lot longer than the fuselage then I run the antenna forward as much as I need and then loop it back to the rear of the fuselage with about 1" sticking out and taped to the outside.

If that is not desirable then tape the end of the antenna to a piece of small dowel and lay that in place. Why hassle with a tube?

Another method that seems to work is to coil the antenna around a piece of balsa about 1" wide x 3" long. tape this anywhere inside the fuselage that is convenient and let it sit there. Provided the wires do not cross I am told it works well. I have not tried this. I do not believe in pushing my luck that far.

  Quick reply to this message.
Old 01-22-2006, 12:36 PM   #9
RCC Supreme Contributor
ronm's Avatar
I am: Ronm
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mission, B.C.
Radio of choice:
# of RCs: 10

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 5,625
Total Props: 0
On the larger planes, having the tube makes it easy to take the receiver in and out if necessary.
Ron Mattiuz

Flying Tigers RC Club
"Flying an airplane is just like riding a bike...except it's harder to put cards in the spokes"
ronm is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 01-22-2006, 02:26 PM   #10
Ed Smith

Feedback: / %
Posts: n/a
Total Props: 0
I must be missing something here. What could be easier than taping the end of the antenna to a piece of dowel and resting it where the tube would rest? Then the antenna does not have to be threaded through anything.

Ed S
  Quick reply to this message.
Closed Thread

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionally, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Your Name
Your first name and last initial is required if you plan on using the forum.
Which city & province you live in. This is mandatory for classified listings.
Radio of choice?
Which radio is your current favorite to use?
Number of RC Vehicles?
How many boats, cars, planes do you own?


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
vBulletin Message

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 AM.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.