Closed Thread
Old 02-28-2006, 06:06 AM   #1
RCC Apprentice
I am: Don Mayberry
Radio of choice:
One that works

Total Props: 0
Storage in garage ??

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Hi Gang,
Live in Kansas temps range from -0 to 110+.
Have a double detached unheated, unairconditioned DRY garage. Humidity in summer runs 60-80% of course winter is much lower 10-30%
What are your comments about storing models in these conditions ?
Have everything from 1/4 scale to indoor electrics, and two cars.
Don-Basehor, Ks
Gonnacrash is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 02-28-2006, 08:08 AM   #2
Wayne MIller
RCC Supreme Contributor
I am: Wayne MIller
Radio of choice:
Hitec A9 JR 9303
# of RCs: 19

Total Props: 8

I'm no expert, but I follow these simple rules.

For typical storage requirements you will need to seal the plane and engine from dust. Humidity can be a problem during temperature change, that is why most sensitive equipment specifications state "temperature change no more than 10 degrees F per hour" - the reason being, that changes faster than that will create condensation.

If your climate allows you to do that, and you don't have too much heat to distort, remove or damage the covering, you should be OK.

Hope this helps.

Wayne Miller
Wayne MIller is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 02-28-2006, 08:13 AM   #3
RCC Supreme Contributor
I am: Jim McIntyre
Radio of choice:
# of RCs: 999

Total Props: 1
Humidity is a killer for electronics, glues, fabrics, wood etc.

A dehumidifier is an absolute minimum. I also maintain fresh silica packs in my transmitter cases, and in some aircraft I don't fly often.
MAAC# 12719
Si fractum non sit, noli id reficere - (If it ain't broke, don't fix it).
JimMcIntyre is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 02-28-2006, 08:13 AM   #4
RCC Supreme Contributor

I leave my wings in the garage, but bring the fuselages with all the electronics inside during the winter