Switching to Lipo's - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Electronics Discuss radios, chargers, etc...

Closed Thread
Old 05-05-2006, 05:15 AM   #1
RCC Contributor
I am: Kevin L
Radio of choice:
Futaba 14SG
# of RCs: 7

Total Props: 1
Switching to Lipo's

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
If I was going to switch a Blade CP to Lipo what should i use, a 2 cell or a 3 cell battery? The stock one is a 9.6V. Will the extra voltage of a 3 cell lipo damage the motors?

stikflyer is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 05-05-2006, 10:40 AM   #2
RCC Pro Contributor
I am: Mike Gyger

Total Props: 0
If you go to a 3 cell lipo you have to change the pinion to a 9 tooth pinion. If you want to change to a 2 cell, you need to change to an 11 tooth pinion. Also, with a 3 cell, you need to add heat sinks to the motors.

I've been flying my blade with a 3 cell lipo for a couple months (guessing 40 or 50 packs at least with no problems). If I were you, I'd get the aerobatic enhancment kit. It comes with a new motor with the correct pinion, new semi symetrical blades, and heat sinks. I think the kit is about $40.

I'm using a TP 3s 1320 pack. I've been known, on occasion, to throw in my 3s 2480 packs. The thing flys like a slug with these, but it worked to hover around.

http://www.e-fliterc.com/Products/Su...rodID=EFLH1100 They tell you all about it here.
Michael Gyger
MAAC 58295
Canhos is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 05-12-2006, 11:37 AM   #3
RCC Noob

Total Props: 0
We are offering Free Shipping to Canada if you decide to go with the Thunder Power Batteries. We carry the full line www.purehobby.com

If you decide you would like to give us a shot in the check out screen there is a spot called voucher code. Type in there "Free shipping" and then hit recalculate and you are ready to go.

Happy Flying!
purehobby is offline   Quick reply to this message.