Best bang for the buck radio setup? - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Electronics Discuss radios, chargers, etc...

Closed Thread
Old 05-14-2006, 07:58 PM   #1
RCC Apprentice
I am: Steve R
Radio of choice:
# of RCs: 4

Total Props: 0
Best bang for the buck radio setup?

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
I'm a newb with a T hawk with the stock 27 mhz 3 channel radio.It seems to be a bit glitchy and I will be replacing it with something that will be useful to me down the road.At this point I don't see glow engines happening ever....Probably bigger electrics though,possibly dabble in AP later.Price is definitely an object
Was thinking along the lines of 6 channel computer radio...any suggestions?
Bull is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 05-14-2006, 08:15 PM   #2
RCC Master Contributor
I am: Alex D

You cant go wrong with a JR 6102, and it can grow with you to nitro, electric, heli's, etc. I started with one and loved it. You cant beat JR quality in that price range IMO.

MAAC Member #75939

TRex 600N Pro FBL, TRex 600E CF, T-500E GF, T-Rex 450L 6S Dominator, TRex 550 DFC, DJI Phantom, DJI 550 H33d, DJI S1000 Z15
Heli3dflyr is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 05-14-2006, 10:13 PM   #3
RCC Senior Contributor
I am: Bob the Builder

If you are going to switch to 72 MHz then make sure there are no clubs within 5km of where you fly... you can kill someone... literally.
OverTemp is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 05-14-2006, 11:16 PM   #4
RCC Pro Contributor
I am: Mike Gyger

The new Spektrum radio is good too. Don't have to worry about frequencies, receivers are about 20 or 30 dollars less, They are designed for small airplanes as well. A bit cheaper than the 6102, a few less features, but alot of them are still there.
Michael Gyger
MAAC 58295
Canhos is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 05-15-2006, 04:35 AM   #5