Newb and Transmitters. - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Beginners / Newbies Interested in getting in the hobby. Not sure where to start. Post your questions here and one of the RCCanada experts will be glad to help you out!

Closed Thread
Old 11-24-2006, 03:41 PM   #1
RCC Noob

Total Props: 0
Newb and Transmitters.

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
I've been doing allot of invetigation lately and it seems that the more I read and learn about transmitters, the more confused I am. Like, here's a dumb question. What's a "buddy"/"trainer" box? Is that a transmitter without the transmitter crystal? What/how do you use it to train? Sim only?

Here's the main thing I'm looking at. I'm new to the sport. I am interested in getting a 6 channel receiver that will keep with me while I change plane models or add models. Basically, I wanna buy one transmitter and don't want to be buying transmitters as I go along adding and swapping planes.

What do you guys suggest? Is it even worth it to go 6ch right away?

ubergolf is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 11-24-2006, 04:20 PM   #2
Dave Holmes
RCC Supreme Contributor
I am: Dave Holmes
Location: Prince Edward County, Ontario (no longer Brampton!)
Radio of choice:
Futaba 72 Mhz
# of RCs: 30+

Total Props: 10
The cost difference between 4 and 6 channels isn't all that much, and you will want the two extra channels fairly soon even if you don't put flaps and retracts on a model.

A true buddy box is just a transmitter with a bunch of stuff left out. It has the controls, but not the capability to transmit. It is connected to the transmitter that works (and which flies your model) by a special cable available from the hobby shop, at swap meets, etc.