RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Fixed Wing Discuss fixed wing aircraft.

Closed Thread
Old 03-01-2007, 01:25 PM   #1
RCC Contributor
I am: DeanM

Total Props: 0
Flying large scale planes???

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
I have been seeing alot of the larger scale planes for sale lately and was wondering how hard they would be to fly for a beginer???

Obviously the bonus is that they are easier to see but are they harder to land/take off then a trainer??? And i'm sure they crash just as nice......

Input??? Thanks
6cuda6 is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 03-01-2007, 01:40 PM   #2
RCC Contributor
I am: corey p

Total Props: 3
im not a very experienced pilot just yet, but what i have found is that the bigger they are the better they fly, they dont get bumped around as much in the wind, like i just wrote in another post, im fully self taught and i went from my foamy cessna up to a tiger trainer and thats going from around 30" wingspan up to a 74" wingspan and wow what a difference, so i cant wait to move up to giant scale... all depends on the plane too, they all fly different eg. taildraggers are more difficult than a trike

hope this helps

prefontaine is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 03-01-2007, 02:49 PM   #3
RCC Supreme Contributor
I am: Ronm
Radio of choice:
# of RCs: 10

Total Props: 0
For large scale to learn on, (not "scale" though), try something like this:
Ron Mattiuz

Flying Tigers RC Club
"Flying an airplane is just like riding a bike...except it's harder to put cards in the spokes"
ronm is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 03-25-2007, 07:26 PM   #4
Gary Maker
RCC Supreme Contributor
I am: Gary M.
Radio of choice:
Spektrum DX8
# of RCs: 7

Total Props: 9
As your probably aware, to be considered scale, a model plane has to be fashioned after a full sized counterpart.