FS One Hard Landing/Crash realism - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Flight Simulators Discuss flight sims.

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2008, 09:22 PM   #1
RCC Apprentice
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Georgetown

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 33
Total Props: 0
FS One Hard Landing/Crash realism

       Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Just wondering if, from your sim experience and ACTUALLY flying, how real is FS One, when it comes to hard landings?
I've landed pretty hard a few times. Sometimes I loose a prop, others nothing happens, when I would think it would break something.
I want to know what to expect when I finally take out my bird.
Colindsm is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 03-11-2008, 10:12 PM   #2
Sonic Boomer
RCC Contributor
Sonic Boomer's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Saskatoon, SK

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 303
Total Props: 0

If your goal is only 'how hard can I land and get away with it' you WILL invevitably cross the line and damage your plane,sooner than you think.

Make it your goal, even on the sim, to set up your landing descent rate and speed so you can consistently land smoothly. That way you establish mentally what a good landing approach is BEFORE you head out to the flying site with your pride and joy. That way, if it doesn't look right or seem right on the landing approach, you can throttle up and go around for another try before it is too late.

Just one opinion, best of luck
Robin Boomsma
MAAC 46821
Hub City Radio Control Club
Saskatoon, SK
Sonic Boomer is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 03-12-2008, 06:09 PM   #3
michel gravelle
RCC Supreme Contributor
michel gravelle's Avatar
I am: Michel G
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Saint-Jerome Quebec Canada

Feedback: 2 / 100%
Posts: 3,120
Total Props: 8

Its exactly like Boomer says , on the sim try and make every landing count , like its the real thing . And you will save $$$$$$$ to .

M.A.A.C. 75640
Hitec Aurora 9
LT-40 LT-60 Alpha-40 Tiger-60 (90 )
ARF P-51 40 TF-P51 Giant KIT
TopFite P-51 Giant ARF X 3
Hanger 9 SpitFire 60 ARF X2
TopFlite Elder-40 ( on the board )
Aero Works 540 T -60
The Ground came up and hit my plane
michel gravelle is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 03-12-2008, 06:35 PM   #4
RCC Supreme Contributor
benjhind's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Derwent, ON

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 2,258
Total Props: 0
In response to the question, I havn't used FSOne, but with other sims I find that the 'crashes' can be exaggerated at times (bump the fence at 2mph and your wing falls off), and way too forgiving at other times (plop a big 35% plane down flat on its gear from a harrier and it doesn't break).

You have to remember that these things arn't perfect, and the simulator doesn't simulate splaying out your gear a bit on a hard landing, or the effects of repeated hard landings. Just keep flying on the sim and your landings will get softer and softer!

Ben Hindmarsh

"I keep planting planes, but they just won't grow!"
benjhind is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 03-13-2008, 10:07 AM   #5
RCC Junior Contributor
Ateeq4's Avatar
I am: Ateeq .
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Stoney Creek, Ontario

Feedback: 1 / 100%
Posts: 173
Total Props: 0
Having FSOne my self I think that the landings on it are somewhat off. In real life you wont be able to land as hard as you can in FSOne because you will probably brake your landing gear. In FSOne I haven't been able to brake the landing gear on any plane but the Funtana's. So like others have said make sure you practice your landings and try to get them as smooth as possible.

Good Luck
Ateeq4 is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 03-13-2008, 07:08 PM   #6
RCC Master Contributor
DO335's Avatar
I am: Cheshire C
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Newmarket Ontario

Feedback: 13 / 100%
Posts: 1,320
Total Props: 1
hard landing

There's only one way you are going to find out what happens to your real plane with a hard landing - do it. You'll find out in a big hurry what happens.

There is presently no simulator which will accurately replicate what's going to happen with your real plane.
DO335 is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Closed Thread

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionally, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Your Name
Your first name and last initial is required if you plan on using the forum.
Which city & province you live in. This is mandatory for classified listings.
Radio of choice?
Which radio is your current favorite to use?
Number of RC Vehicles?
How many boats, cars, planes do you own?


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
vBulletin Message

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 AM.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.