Spektrum binding issue - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Electronics Discuss radios, chargers, etc...

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2008, 05:29 PM   #1
RCC Noob
Hot_Dog's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Oakland Ontario

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 11
Total Props: 0
Spektrum binding issue

       Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
I just wanted to let everyone know of a problem I had trying to re-bind a receiver after installing it in a plane through the charge jack. The existing power switch only has 2 wires on it but to bind it has to have the negative and signal wires jumped (with the binding plug).

So after 15 minutes of head scratchin' I opened up the hatch and noticed right away red and black only.

Just letting everyone know because it could easily be overseen, especially if you are swapping receivers.
Jim Ramey
MAAC #65712

Yes Honey, I really do need a new plane!
Hot_Dog is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 04-10-2008, 06:05 PM   #2
RCC Contributor
Carlyle's Avatar
I am: carlyle anderson
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Stratford, Ontario

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 325
Total Props: 0
a quick note to help people as well... Most people will already know this, but just a reminder. To bind, if you run into this problem, plug your power wire into any open channel on your receiver, and the blind plug into the battery channel. You can power up a spektrum receiver (or any receiver) threw any channel.
you don't need CNC if you are handy with a torch.
Carlyle is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 04-10-2008, 08:06 PM   #3
RCC Junior Contributor
bugerdup's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ontario

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 159
Total Props: 0
I had the same issue, I had to use a jumper to bind it. Also when doing a range test on a new plane, can this be done with another DX6I in use close by?
MAAC 79019
JR 2.4 GHz
Top-Flite F4U Corsair w/RCV 120sp
Top-Flite P47 Thunderbolt
Hangar 9 Extra 260 / DLE 55

Member of the C,I,S, (Chinese Import Society)
bugerdup is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 04-11-2008, 12:41 PM   #4
scaleguy's Avatar
I am: JimmyD
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mississauga On, SE Zone
Radio of choice:
JETI Duplex DS-16
# of RCs: 6

Feedback: 30 / 100%
Posts: 13,956
Total Props: 16
Originally Posted by bugerdup
I had the same issue, I had to use a jumper to bind it. Also when doing a range test on a new plane, can this be done with another DX6I in use close by?
The range check or the binding? The Rx should still bind to your Tx as it will be closer. After the binind is done you should be able to range check just like any other radio. Just because another 2.4 Tx is on doesn't mean you will get less range. That is the whole point of 2.4. Just do your range check as normal. Oh you are rembering to remove the bind plug after you are done right? And don't forget to depress the b ind button on the back of the Tx when doing your range check, that knocks the power output down so you don't have to walk a mile to go out of range!
Jim Daly
IMAC Sequence Committee Member
Your Friendly Neighborhood SouthEast Zone Director
MAAC #14323L IMAC #3678
scaleguy is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Closed Thread

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionally, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Your Name
Your first name and last initial is required if you plan on using the forum.
Which city & province you live in. This is mandatory for classified listings.
Radio of choice?
Which radio is your current favorite to use?
Number of RC Vehicles?
How many boats, cars, planes do you own?


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
vBulletin Message

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 AM.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.