Can I change the frequency on the transmiter - Page 2 - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Electronics Discuss radios, chargers, etc...

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2008, 07:41 AM   #11
RCC Contributor
I am: Ronald R
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Timmins
Radio of choice:
# of RCs: 18

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 372
Total Props: 0
Re: Can I change the frequency on the transmiter

       Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
The only way to be SURE, is to have the manufacturer or his qualified rep do it for you, ensuring the transmitter is retuned. Any change in frequency without retuning could very easily affect the range of the radio. After frequency change, It will appear to work very well, but not have the same range as it used to have.
ronljroy is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 04-19-2008, 09:41 AM   #12
RCC Supreme Contributor
benjhind's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Derwent, ON

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 2,258
Total Props: 0
Re: Can I change the frequency on the transmiter

I use a JR XP6102, and change frequencies all the time. I have crystal sets on a few channels, since you can get a crystal set for a few bucks at a swap meet rather than paying $15 and up for a single receiver crystal that matches your radio. Not the best option, but it suits my limited budget.

I fly at farm fields, so I have no worries about shooting other people down or being shot down by someone else. I enjoy pushing the visual limits of my flying range, and have never had a range issue using a different crystal in the transmitter.

Ben Hindmarsh

"I keep planting planes, but they just won't grow!"
benjhind is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 04-23-2008, 12:37 AM   #13
RCC Expert Contributor
Arceenut's Avatar
I am: Roy H
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aldergrove BC Canada
Radio of choice:
# of RCs: 14

Feedback: 3 / 100%
Posts: 942
Total Props: 10
Re: Can I change the frequency on the transmiter

You can change the crystals to change the channel and get away with it MOST times, BUT be sure to range check before and after the change carefully. Crystals are manufactured to provide a certain frequency into a standard oscillator load, but as in all manufacturing processes, they have a tolerance limit. If the original crystal was at one edge of the tolerance limit and the transmitter was adjusted to bring it on to the correct frequency and the new crystal was at the other end of the tolerance limit, then you may be vry close or even outside the frequency of the new channel. I have had occasions where the transmitter was at the very edge of the channel limits after a crystal change even with the same channel crystal. Think of this - why is there an adjustment to fine tune the frequency if all crystals were bang on without tuning? Do a range check on the original by taking the transmitter to the very maximum point - jittering servo point. Then do the same with the new crystal. If there is ANY deterioration of range, the system (both the transmitter AND reciever) should be checked.

Sorry for the long rambling post.
Lead, follow or get out of the way!
Arceenut is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 04-24-2008, 04:42 PM   #14
Chris W
RCC Apprentice
I am: Chris W
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB.

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 53
Total Props: 0
Re: Can I change the frequency on the transmiter

althought it may be too late to add my two bit into this, here goes.

I'm returning to the hobby after many years have gone by. needless to say my radios ar now no longer proprer frequencys for aircraft. i thought of changing the crystals but a nice 6 channel radio by spectrium (sp?) cought my eye. (dx6i)

going to the higher frequency band means i will never interfere with someelse plane and nither would my plane take a dive because someone accedently turned on his radio. (my old traner still has a major dent in the wing)

little less than 200 and get two recievers (current deal from Great Hobbies)

any hoo that was my choice
Chris W is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Closed Thread

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionally, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Your Name
Your first name and last initial is required if you plan on using the forum.
Which city & province you live in. This is mandatory for classified listings.
Radio of choice?
Which radio is your current favorite to use?
Number of RC Vehicles?
How many boats, cars, planes do you own?


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
vBulletin Message

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 PM.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.