Amp question - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Electronics Discuss radios, chargers, etc...

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2008, 09:30 AM   #1
Second time around
RCC Pro Contributor
Second time around's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 1,695
Total Props: 0
Amp question

       Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
I have a computer power supply 12volt that i use to power my charger .
How do I find out how many amps it is putting out and can it be incresed ?
Keep it simple Boys LOL
Second time around is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 06-01-2008, 09:58 AM   #2
Ken Currell
I am: Ken Currell
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Whitby, Ontario
Radio of choice:
Multiplex Royal Evo
# of RCs: 30+

Feedback: 3 / 100%
Posts: 3,688
Total Props: 0
Re: Amp question


You can't boost it beyond the rated output on the power supply.

Look at the label and it will tell you what the maximum amp output is at 12 volts.

If you draw more amps than that you will likely burn it out.

Good luck

Last edited by Ken Currell; 06-01-2008 at 06:13 PM. Reason: typo
Ken Currell is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 06-03-2008, 11:08 PM   #3
RCC Senior Contributor
Flybaby's Avatar
I am: Ron B
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cranbrook B.C.
Radio of choice:
# of RCs: 6

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 563
Total Props: 4
Re: Amp question

Then again it might just shut down if you draw too much current. We have connected two Apache chargers to one 5A computer power supply with no problems. Charging 2-2100 ma lipo packs seems OK. A wattmeter is handy but unless you are also into electrics not many guys use them.
MAAC # 77858
Ever since I learned to fly better, I've had a lot less radio problems!
Flybaby is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 06-04-2008, 01:17 PM   #4
RCC Senior Contributor
I am: Marc B
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sk.

Feedback: 1 / 100%
Posts: 691
Total Props: 0
Re: Amp question

Above is a link I found long ago, and i used it to build my PS. There are a few tricks to boost voltage, etc.... There is also a good article in Flying Giants about creating your own PS.

BigBreeze is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 06-04-2008, 01:56 PM   #5
RCC Supreme Contributor
I am: John Davidson
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vulcan,Alberta
Radio of choice:
EVO(12), Futaba
# of RCs: ?

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 2,927
Total Props: 0
Re: Amp question

If the label is still on the box then it will let you know the output. Mine is 20 amp at 5 volt and 8 amp at 12 volt. Otherwise you are going to need an amp meter and do some trial and error to find out.
John Davidson
Keep the shiny side up and the wheels down
Vulcan1 is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 06-04-2008, 02:26 PM   #6
RCC Supreme Contributor
I am: eric q
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Crawford Lake, Ontario
Radio of choice:
# of RCs: too

Feedback: 9 / 100%
Posts: 7,159
Total Props: 26
Re: Amp question

One of the problems (for modelers) is that fewer computer parts require 12VDC, and and going to lower voltages. Therefor newer PC power supplies have a lower current output available for the 12V source. Get an old one, back when the hard drives were 10lbs (more power to spin).
desiderantes meliorem patriam
To err is human, to moo is bovine
moo is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 06-04-2008, 10:19 PM   #7
RCC Supreme Contributor
YoungestPiperCub's Avatar
I am: Kevin King
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Radio of choice:
JR 28x
# of RCs: 10+

Feedback: 13 / 100%
Posts: 2,062
Total Props: 40
Re: Amp question

If for some reason the power supply says the output in watts avalible at 12v then divide that number by 12 to find amps.

e.g 120W/12=10 amps
Kevin King MAAC - 76804
JR Americas - Team Pilot AMR-RC - Designer/ Team Pilot
YoungestPiperCub is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Closed Thread

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionally, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Your Name
Your first name and last initial is required if you plan on using the forum.
Which city & province you live in. This is mandatory for classified listings.
Radio of choice?
Which radio is your current favorite to use?
Number of RC Vehicles?
How many boats, cars, planes do you own?


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
vBulletin Message

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 PM.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.