Old 04-21-2009, 05:15 PM   #1
RCC Apprentice
I am: Brad G
Radio of choice:
the only one i have t6x
# of RCs: 4

Total Props: 0
4-stroke nOOb question

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Hey guys, i know this is probably gunna sound stupid to most of you out there, but i am a nOOb with 4 stroke motors. I was pondering the idea of hooking up a pressurized smoker system on my Mazda Zlin which has an ASP 65 4 stroke. My question to you is...can i use the existing vent line on the crank case to pressurize my oil tank for the smoke system? Also what oil are you using to produce the smoke?
raven_1978 is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 04-21-2009, 06:29 PM   #2
RCC Master Contributor
I am: Cheshire C

Total Props: 1
Re: 4-stroke nOOb question

If you just sit back and think about it for a moment, you'll figure out exactly why you do not use the crankcase vent to pressurize anything - namely because it won't work.

The volume inside the crankcase is constantly changing. It's smallest when your piston is at bottom dead center and largest when your piston is at top dead center. So there is air being pushed out of and sucked back into the crankcase through the breather.

That is not about to work as a pressure pump or a vacuum pump. If you introduce a check valve into a line connceted to the vent, you'd create a vacuum in the engine crankcase as the piston travels to top dead centre. So that would result in big problems and faulty engine operation too.

What you need is a constant push, as you get with exhaust pressure to pressurize a fuel system. No alternating suck and blow. Only blow.

Normally, we use an auxilliary pump, such as the Slimline smoke oil pump, for example. There are others available. And we use specific smoke oil, which is formulated to make lots of white smoke when it is heated and injected into the hot exhaust stream. Super Dry is such a product.