Another newbie - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
General RC Heli Discussion Discuss general topics on rotary wing aircraft, including construction, Servo's, Gryo's and Stabilizer discussions. Heli Pro Shop

Closed Thread
Old 08-25-2009, 07:32 PM   #1
helikopter girl
RCC Noob

Total Props: 0
Another newbie

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Hi Folks,

I'm a middle-aged professional who works in electronics. I have always been fascinated by tech toys and have also always wanted to learn how to fly RC. About a month ago, I splurged on one of those little styro helis and strived mightily for a few hours to try to make it fly, until the pin someone told me to stick in the nose punctured the battery when it hit the wall and that was that. Guess I should have known better. . .

Undaunted, I went back and spent a little more this time on a Blade mCX S300 Schweizer. After about 4 hrs of accumulated practice, I'm thrilled to say I can fly it without crashing! Even do some simple tricks like nose-in circles, figure 8's and fairly smooth landings. I like it!

Sigh, I can tell this is going to get expensive. . . now I have gone and purchased the RealFlight sim and someone has told me to practice for about 200 hours. This is going to take all winter! What I have my heart set on is to buy a T-Rex 500 CF kit, build it, get a transmitter (Spektrum D6i perhaps) and move outdoors. . . perhaps some day even go inverted. Yikes!

Anyway, I made my own airfield in the sim (no large obstacles) and just practice hovering tail-in. When I turn sideways or nose-in, my brain and thumbs get all confused. I know, maybe I should have tried RC cars or planes first, but I really only want to fly helis. I'm somewhat ambidextrous so I thought this might help, but so far my dumb thumbs are all that!