Spektrum question? - Page 2 - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Jet Aircraft Discuss Jets in Canada

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2009, 05:22 PM   #11

Feedback: / %
Posts: n/a
Total Props: 0
Re: Spektrum question?

       Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Ron, you have to do the tx and rx as a group, tx on, give it a few seconds, then the rx. You dont turn the rx or tx off and back on without doing them together as a group. If you do, it will tell you.
  Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 11-02-2009, 05:38 PM   #12
RCC Supreme Contributor
I am: Ron O.
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Millet, AB

Feedback: 71 / 100%
Posts: 2,806
Total Props: 33
Re: Spektrum question?

Originally Posted by JohnVH View Post
Ron, you have to do the tx and rx as a group, tx on, give it a few seconds, then the rx. You dont turn the rx or tx off and back on without doing them together as a group. If you do, it will tell you.
I'm sure that's what I was doing wrong on the bench.....
reo is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 11-09-2009, 09:13 PM   #13
RCC Junior Contributor
JDJetJock's Avatar
I am: Jeff Daly
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Stittsville, ON
Radio of choice:
JR 12X

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 178
Total Props: 1
Re: Spektrum question?

Originally Posted by reo View Post
I recently converted my JR 10X to Spektrum 2.4 with the '9000 receiver and two external receivers. I'm setting up a jet on the bench and when I turn everything on all is well and all the lights on the Rx's stay solid. From time to time, after having everything turned on for awhile all the lights will flash in the Rx's and then sometimes they flash only in some of the receivers. Rebooting the system fixes this and the data logger doesn't show anything out of the ordinary. RX voltage appears not to be the issue, I have onboard voltmeters installed and the voltage does not vary one iota from the 5.02 volts that my Smart-Fly unit supplies to the receiver. (6.0V independant power to the servos). There is nothing regarding this in their little booklet....any ideas?...am I missing something obvious here?

edit....by the way, even when the lights are flashing everything still seems to work fine...

Thanks in advance for any replies....Ron
Hi Ron,

How are you? Coincidentally, I had to send my AR9100 into JR for service because after several random flights or during turbine start-up, one of the satellite rx (not all, but only one) would start to blink after being solid, the three other satellite rx's being solid. You mentioned that only some of the rx's had their lights blinking.

I had been flying my Bandit like that for 20 or so times, with outstanding rx performance despite the blinking light. Re-binding did not improve the situation, and the datalogger always showed 6.0V after the flights (I have two lipos thru Smartfly regs set at 6.0V), and I replaced the satellite rx...still same prob. JR says that satellite experienced a "brown-out", meaning it had a voltage drop below the threshold (3.5V I think). JR found no fault with the AR9100 unit nor the satellite rx...they kindly replaced the satellite rx anyway. I'm going to test my regs to verify the system voltage is good under load, but maybe it was a loose connector at the satellite port or caused by EMI from the starter motor (located within 3 inches of that satellite rx).

I going flying again in a couple weeks to test out my Nexus in the Super Bandit, and we'll see if I get the blinking light again. Hope that cycling your tx was your problem! The Spectrum stuff really is outstanding so far...I'm hoping my prob was an installation oversight.

Jeff Daly
MAAC 23523
JDJetJock is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Closed Thread

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionally, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Your Name
Your first name and last initial is required if you plan on using the forum.
Which city & province you live in. This is mandatory for classified listings.
Radio of choice?
Which radio is your current favorite to use?
Number of RC Vehicles?
How many boats, cars, planes do you own?


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
vBulletin Message

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 AM.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.