Giant Aeromaster ARC - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
ARF / ARC Aircraft Discuss anything and everything ARF or ARC related.

Closed Thread

Old 03-10-2008, 11:11 AM   #1
Glenn Nigh
RCC Senior Contributor

I am: Glenn N
Radio of choice:
Spektrum
# of RCs: 10

Total Props: 7
Giant Aeromaster ARC

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
I have been flying a 1/4 size Aeronca Champ for several years. I also have a 1/4 size Cub I will fly this summer. Eventually I wold like to get into WW-1 airplanes.

I have just purchased a Great planes Giant Aeromaster to practice giant biplane handeling. I have several Quadra 35-40 motors and plan to use one of these for power. I bought a new Specktrum 7 and will use this system . I am not too familiar with the setup with this yet, ie, mixing etc..
Keeping in mind that I am a "Sunday flyer" does anyone have any recomendations. I bought the ARC so I can see and get inside and make changes before I close it in. It looks on first glance to be a very nicely built airplane.
The ARF has MonoKote covering, are there other suggestions ? I don't mind working with MonoKote and it's a tough finish when done.

Glenn MAAC #9343
Glenn Nigh is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 03-10-2008, 05:18 PM   #2
DO335
RCC Master Contributor

I am: Cheshire C

Total Props: 5
GIANT AEROMASTER

Three suggestions for you:

1. Put in a more powerful, larger displacemnt engine than your Quadras. You'll find that people complain about anything less than about a 45-48 cc Fuji or Zenoah as being too small and underpowered, with many saying that about a DL/DA 50 or Zenoah 62 is just about right. It will need power to do decent aerobatics. My ST2500 will fly a 20 lb. plane. But I'd never expect anything other than smooth take offs and landings with it in this plane.